Review: Carpoint E11 foglights

My search for new foglights has finally ended, after days of looking for a suitable replacement for the Hans Bo CREE U5 LED spots.
The weird part is that they were always close to me, in my local diy store!

Since my old “new” Hans Bo LED spots began to flicker and became totally uncontrollable by the switch, I’ve been searching for a replacement.
Not wanting to spend more than 50€, I searched on AliExpress for foglights that only had 1 mode, but almost all of them have the “high”, “low” and “strobe” mode.

I remembered that in my local diy store, they also have a car parts department, so I browsed a bit and found some foglights from “Carpoint” (cheap car accessories) for about 35€.

So I picked them up, and they looked promising, but they didn’t have a pipe clamp.
I looked around for some steel pipe clamps (with rubber inside) but they only had plastic ones for conduit pipe.
I picked 6 pieces up (if one happens to break) which costed me about 9€.

I began disassembling the old fog light setup, which was very easy because I already ripped out the cables of the terminal block, as told in the blogpost “Radiosilence… Small update“.
Having a spare relay that I bought from AliExpress a few months ago, I installed them using the following schematic:

DLR ACC schakel

The specifications of the fog lights are:
– Voltage: 12V
– Watts: 55w each (110w total)
– Bulb: H3 halogen
The Suzuki XF650 Freewind has an alternator capable of handling 200W.

After installing them on my pipe clamps and crashbars, it looked like this:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After riding around, one of the pipe clamps broke because of the vibration and being clamped down too hard, so the extra clamps were a great investment.

The light output is much higher and more scattered, but they also run hotter and consume more power. It’s also easier on the eye than the blue hue of the LED ones.
They are completely waterproof by using a siliconed gasket.

I’m currently totally loving it, and will be using this at night.

Thanks for reading and ride safe!

 

 

 

Leave a comment