Review: Sena 3S

Long trips going to school and back home were a bit boring, so I wanted some music on the road, so I’ve bought a Sena 3S Bluetooth headset for my helmet.

Prior to the Sena 3S, I had a waterproof mp3-player and some helmet speakers (which were too expensive for what they were). Did the job well, but not good enough.

I was looking for the cheapest, well known brand for motorcycle intercom systems, and I came to conclusion that Sena had some interesting communicators.

Since I almost don’t ride with friends (because my friends aren’t bikers), it had to be an intercom with the least functions, so no radio with RDS.
I also didn’t like the view of a communication device on the side of my helmet, so there was only 1 left.

The Sena 3S.

The Sena 3S has 3 different versions:
– Open face helmets
– Full face helmets
– Modular helmets

I have the version for open face helmets, because the modular one didn’t exist at the time that I bought the 3S.

Mounting the Sena 3S is easy. There were some cutouts in my helmet to install speakers.
The speakers are both 11mm thick, but it’ll fit just right. Reason why is that the electronics are mounted inside the speakers.

Some specs:
– Bluetooth 3.0
– 200 metres intercom (didn’t test that)
– Dual bluetooth (using 2 bluetooth devices at the same time, also didn’t test that)
– stand by about 7 days, 8 hours talk time, charge with micro-usb.
– Max. 1 connection with other Sena devices (didn’t test that either)

Tests I’ve done:
– Calling: Voice is clear, both for sender and receiver, also has a “Hello” function.
– Music: Not a lot of bass, more difficult to listen to at higher speeds.
– Pressing buttons with winter gloves: Passed, just a bit fiddly.

Package contents:
– Sena 3S
– Micro USB cable
– 2 microphone foams
– Manual

Drawbacks:
– It doesn’t fit every helmet, when buying one for a modular helmet, just buy the modular helmet version.
– It sometimes loses connection, but can also be the phones fault
– Long charging times
– Not waterproof

In a nutshell, I’m very content with this intercom. The quality is good, and it isn’t bulky.

Leave a Reply

